Albums by Cathoel & the New Government


Hey, Big Splendour

mp3 download of ‘Hey, Big Splendour’ – the debut album of Cathoel & the New Government: a collective of musicians who love jazz, folk, funk, punk, country, poetry, & silence. We met on subways & on the street, in cafes & bars, at gigs, in Melbourne and New York.


Show full playlist

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (1 votes, average: 5.00 out of 5)

8 reviews of “Hey, Big Splendour

  1. Wow Cathoel, how I love your songs!
    Your voice is sweet, seductive, sultry and haunting at the same time. Love the piano playing and the way you move from soft and lingering to more emotional and expressive. I appreciate the resonance and depth of your voice.

    Kimberley February 7, 2014 at 7:19 pm
  2. Brilliant Cathoel! All of it. Yes, the piano is an outstanding compliment to your voice, but I also love the ‘titanic’ and the guitar (which, having had the pleasure of hearing you before, I assume must be you playing as well).
    Love your prose and poems – endlessly cryptic and provocative.

    Andrea March 12, 2014 at 8:55 pm
  3. You stopped me in my well worn work tracks and caused me to listen three times and more to each song. Thank you for that. People wandering past my office might wonder what I’m upset about, but they would be wrong. I’m brimming with many emotions brought on by your beautiful voice and my pleasure of some association. It makes me want to throw away my busyness and reclaim the simple happiness of our early childhood. Exploring the expanding world with you as my guide. Go my sister! You are amazing.

    Nick March 24, 2014 at 8:59 am
  4. Thank you! You have made a poem out of it. Alison, thanks for listening. How lovely.

    Cathoel Jorss June 1, 2014 at 6:35 pm
  5. Wow, Alex thank you very much.

    Cathoel Jorss June 2, 2014 at 8:50 pm

Write a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *